The Most Important 20 Minutes Of Your Day

What can you do in 20 minutes?

You can catch up on your emails…

Check the news on your favorite Internet news sites…

Take a nap…

Waste time channel surfing…

Regardless of how busy your life is, most–if not all–of us can find an extra 20 minutes in our day to do what’s important.

But you can also spend that extra 20 minutes feeding your soul.

Invest In Your Soul

This time last year, I decided to take on a personal challenge that has profoundly impacted my life. I decided to replace 20 minutes a day of mindless surfing on the web to invest in my soul. I wasn’t sure if I could do it, but as the year progressed, I began building momentum. This Fall has been the most spiritually vibrant season of my life.

I can’t guarantee that your experience will imitate mine, but I do know this: feeding your soul every day will profoundly impact your life.

I’m confident of that!

In fact, as the year has progressed, I’ve longed for a community of people to join me in these daily feedings–so we could share with each other how these feedings have impacted our lives.

Then the thought occurred to me: why not build a community of people who will read and feed together–and then give them a forum to share their experiences?

Food For Your Soul

So what is the source of this spiritual food?

It sounds almost too simple. Quite honestly, I’m a little embarrassed to admit it because by acknowledging it, you may  want to place me in a category where I don’t belong.

Nevertheless, I’m so convinced it will change your life that I’ll go ahead and tell you.

The source of this spiritual food is the Holy Bible.

Most people feel overwhelmed when they open their Bible. Where do they start? How can they understand such an old book? Who can explain it? And where can they offer their thoughts?

Hopefully my new blog http://www.bibleconversation.com will answer those questions.

Here’s The Plan–And It Only Takes 20 Minutes!

Beginning January 1, 2010, I’m going to guide people on a spiritual journey in reading through the Bible in one year. To do that, you only need 20 minutes a day. Twenty minutes a day that will impact your life!

Here’s the format: Every morning when you wake up, you’ll be given a link to http://www.BibleGateway.com with your daily online Bible reading. If you’d like to use your own Bible, that’s fine, too. For this first year, I’d like to use the New International Version translation of the Bible, because it’s a fairly accurate translation that’s easy to understand.

Then, you’ll be supplied with a few notes that will help you understand that day’s reading.

Next, I’ll offer some thoughts about how God spoke to me through the reading.

And then you’ll be invited to interact with my thoughts–and hopefully offer some thoughts of your own.

If you like, you can subscribe to this online community through email. Just sign up through the sidebar of this blog.

The focus of this blog isn’t Bible information, it’s spiritual transformation. How is God speaking to you through the Bible? Reading for information makes minimal impact on a person’s soul. But taking a moment to listen, meditate, marinate in God’s word will forever change you. And everyone needs an outlet to share and listen to others.

It’s that simple!

A Word To Any Well-Intentioned Doubters And Skeptics

Please allow me to to add one additional thought: Perhaps you’ve never looked at a Bible, or even consider yourself a deeply spiritual person. That’s okay! We’re all pilgrims on a unique spiritual journey. I’m not going to try to make you change your beliefs so they resemble mine. However, this is an opportunity for you to join a safe community of people who will journey together on this voyage of discovery and life-change.

Will you join me?

Michael J. Klassen

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The Most Important 20 Minutes Of Your Day

  1. Linda

    Michael,

    I can’t wait to join you. The Lord has gently challenged me the past couple of years to do a “Bible-in-a-year” discipline and each time, I’ve failed. This will be great!

    Hugs from your old friend.

  2. Mike… I did the BIOY several years ago and am looking forward to repeating it. Thanks for the opportunity.

  3. Mike: I too will gladly participate. 2010 is going to be a surprising year in following God.

  4. Susan Jones

    Michael,
    I just got a new day timer for 2010. One of the first things I did was to arrow (new verb) in an hour and a half one morning a week to write. At a nearby Starbucks. How could that not be good. I can start that time with 20 minutes doing your deal. Perfect.
    Thanks, Mike.
    Susan

  5. Doug

    Mike,

    I am so looking forward to this journey with you and God! Thank you for including me on your list.

    Peace brother,

    Doug

  6. Anne

    Mike,
    I look forward to journeying together, running, skipping, leaping, and most of all… growing in the knowledge of Him as we listen, share, interact together. I love your writing and I love your stories! You will always be to me, the ‘Best Boss in all the Kingdom’ I have ever known! Sign me up.
    Anne

  7. Dave

    It’s been too long since we’ve been on a spiritual journey together. Let’s go!

Leave a Reply

