The Key To Making Positive Change

Are you ready to get in shape?Four years ago, I was overweight and out of shape. Tying my shoes required some tricky gymnastics moves while holding my breath because I couldn’t reach my shoe laces. My morning cup of joe included equal parts coffee, half-and-half, and sugar. And walking up any flight of stairs left me breathless.

Something needed to change because, as I was entering my 40s, I knew that my lifestyle choices would soon take its toll on my body.

But despite my best intentions, I just couldn’t muster up enough discipline to do something about it.

However, when my wife Kelley decided that she wanted to pick up the pace of her workouts, I found a workout partner in my own home. We also decided to eat leaner, healthier foods. And she consistently encouraged me.

Which made all the difference.

Over the next five months, I lost 40 pounds while getting into the best shape of my life.

Some of those lost pounds have found me since then, but now we’re training to run a marathon in the Spring. Without her, though, none of this would have happened.

If you were overweight and out of shape, and someone offered to work out in the gym with you four times a week, would that give you a little added motivation to get in shape?

Absolutely.

We all need encouragement when making changes in our lives. And finding a partner to join us in that change gives us added motivation. Often it’s the key to making positive change.

Our daily workout begins in four days

In four days—on January 1—we’re going to begin reading through the Bible. It’s a strenuous workout that requires commitment and perseverance over the course of an entire year. You’re going to need to set aside at least 20 minutes a day.

But the good news is, you’re not alone.

Reading through the Bible with a community of people can be the key that makes the difference…and helps you get into better spiritual shape in 2010.

Just look at this as your daily spiritual workout, because that’s what it is.

Here are some added benefits of reading through the Bible in a year with a community of people:

  • You have a forum to share what God is speaking to you through your reading.
  • If you need help understanding or applying a passage of Scripture, you can post a question.
  • If you struggle finding  motivation that day, or nothing jumps out at you in that day’s reading, the insights of other people from the community can get you headed in the right direction.
  • You have daily workout partners who are following the same workout schedule.
  • Best of all, you are participating in a community of people with a common goal.

For a community like this to develop, though, we need your participation. So, as we begin, please share your insights and thoughts with the rest of the community.

If you haven’t subscribed to the daily email, do it today! It serves as a great reminder and motivator.

Between now and then, why not find some partners to join you in your daily workout? Just point them to www.bibleconversation.com and encourage them to subscribe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

