God Loves You…And Likes You Too!

Do you ever question God’s love for you? Do you ever wonder if God loves you—but he doesn’t like you? If so, then you’ll appreciate today’s reading from the Bible.

Welcome to the first day of our year-long journey through the life-changing word of God. Thank you for participating in our community!

Today’s Reading

Genesis 1:1-2:25

Matthew 1:1-2:12

Psalm 1:1-1:6

Proverbs 1:1-1:6

Insights Into Today’s Reading

  • Genesis 1 and 2 are really separate accounts of creation. Notice that Genesis 1 refers to “God” while Genesis 2 uses the phrase “LORD God.” Any time you see “God” in the Old Testament it usually refers to the Hebrew word Elohim. “Lord God” almost always refers to the Hebrew word Yahweh. Here’s a tidbit of interesting information: the word for God in Arabic is Allah, which is very similar in pronunciation to Elohim.
  • The Bible begins and ends with references to the tree of life: Genesis 2:9 and Revelation 22:2, 14. However, the tree of the knowledge of good and evil—from which Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit—does not appear in Revelation.
  • The use of Adam’s rib for the creation of Eve  appears in ancient Sumerian texts. The Sumerian word for rib is ti. Interestingly enough, ti means “life,” just like Eve does in Genesis 3:20.
  • Note how the beginning of Matthew highlights the presence of questionable women in Jesus’ genealogy (Matthew 1:3,5,6).

My Response

You know, deep down, I think many of us assume that God doesn’t really like us. He tolerates us—begrudgingly—but he’d prefer NOT to hang out with us. Why? Because we have sin, vestiges of darkness in our lives.

Today, I began our first day’s reading…and couldn’t move past the first two verses. Genesis 1:1-2 (NIV) tells says:

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.

Notice that the darkness was hovering over the surface of the deep. And what does the passage also tell us was hovering over the dark waters? The Spirit of God.

God wasn’t repulsed by the darkness.

All my life, I’ve assumed (at least subconsciously) that God reacted to the dark places in my life like two positive sides of the same magnet. But not only does he thrive in my dark places…he’s at work. In those places where I think he doesn’t exist, he’s there. In those dark places that I  hide from him, he’s there. He’s unafraid and un-repulsed by my dark areas.

It reminds me of Psalm 139:7-10:

Where can I go from your Spirit?

Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

if I make my bed in the depths,a you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn,

if I settle on the far side of the sea,

even there your hand will guide me,

your right hand will hold me fast.

A few other insights that hit me about Genesis 1:

  • God’s power. Whatever he speaks, happens. He says, “Let there be light”…and there is light.
  • God’s character. Everything God creates is good. The New Bible Commentary points out that ‘Create’ is something that only God does (the verb is used only of God in the OT).
  • The interrelatedness of God’s creation. We share a common creator as creation. Obviously, we’re different because we’re created in God’s image. But we’re related to his creation and given the charge of taking of God’s creation. Genesis 2:15 affirms this.

Conversation Starters

  • What does the creation passage tell you about God?
  • Do you long for anything that was present at creation and lost as a result of Adam and Eve’s sin?

How is God speaking to you today through today’s reading?

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “God Loves You…And Likes You Too!

  1. murray downie

    In the Genesis reading I noted that everything that God created was good. His creation was pleasing to him.it showed that he is a God of love.

  2. Mosh

    When I think of “the beginning”, I think of purity, innocence, simplicity, and indescribable communion with God. I long for that in my life…

  3. So much is said in these passages –
    1. God said – creation is in the mouth – by speaking
    2. God created seed-bearing plants – these seeds continue to create living things – seeds – multiplication comes from seeds – the Word of God is seed – creation comes from seed – seed is very significant – He set in motion seed – that way He doesn’t have to create something new everyday – the seed takes care of it – our words are seeds – we create with our words –
    3. Because we were created in God’s image – we are made like God – therefore we should be like him and speak to create
    4. We have been given authority over all the creatures of the earth
    5. Man created as one – but was separated into two – thus woman – separate but complete together
    Just a few insights – passages are so rich –

  4. I know that God saw that when He created man he was very good – God was pleased –
    By creating the second Adam – Jesus in Matthew – He was also pleased – and by acceptance of Jesus as my Savior – God is very pleased with me also – my sin is covered and atoned for – therefore – He can never have but love for me – not matter what I do – His love has covered it

  5. Also when God rested from creating – what comes to mind is like an artist who rest after creating a picture – he puts down his brush, not to add one more stroke of the brush, and looks at it and is very please with his work –

  6. Linda

    I appreciated the insights into the Spirit of God hovering above the darkness and being at work instead of repulsed by it…we all have those areas of darkness in our lives. It brings to mind Romans 8:28.

  7. Tom

    It’s interested that God concluded his work was “very good” yet knowing how we’d mess up (sin). But if God says I am a “very good” work then I am going to take Him for his Word. 🙂

  8. Royalene

    Question: It seems that God didn’t create the sun, moon, stars until day 3…and yet He created “Light” on the 1st day. What might that light be? Could that be His reflection? Allowing His “light” to shine upon the earth? As mentioned already, these passages are so FULL.

    I especially enjoyed the connection between the readings in Psalms and Proverbs–telling us to watch out where we get our “counsel” from. “A man of understanding will atain wise counsel.” And yet, O so often we see harm come from listening to the negative–even hateful–voices of friends, family, advisors of all sorts…media….etc.

    AND YET…such a confidence builder as we read in Matthew how Joseph LISTENED to the counsel of the angel in his dream! PRAISE GOD!

  9. Mike

    Two stories of creation, quite different, both point to human life as the supreme creation. We are to be in charge of all other life, stewards of what God alone created. What a task! I wonder if we are doing a good job of it. I don’t think global warming or PETA are Godly responses to these “care of the earth” issues, but what IS our response as God’s chosen stewards of his creation?

  10. Doris

    I was thinking about the Magi – Daniel – and a novel take on the Magi in a book I read this Christmas called “The Spy who came for Christmas.” The age old battle of the sexes, Eden and then east of Eden, and then the angels guarding Eden, and is Eden here, there or in the air? I thought about how I was at times both wicked and righteous. There was much more thinking… Then I stopped, and said in all that thinking about – much like walking about – is in any part – God speaking to me? Are we in the Garden together in any of these mental meanderings? I am trusting that we are… that God’s word never returns void. Not only is this a God who creates, but a God who assigned us to rule over things he created, a God who worked out his purpose for us through generations, a God who is with us, he is a God who cares about how we behave. Still there was some nagging questions there for me on some of today’s theological hot spots. Given the nature of God that I have been taught – all knowing, all present, never changing – what does the idea of God resting mean? Why give Joseph’s genealogy – when he was not the father?

  11. murray downie

    What I like about this is that the origin of the universe , the earth and life was no accident. There is a creator.God. God made everything and he saw that it was good
    That we were made in his image establishes us with a special relationship with God that differs from the rest of creation.

Leave a Reply

