The Tale of the Fish with the Deadly Appetite

Back in the day, every evening around five o’clock, my grandpa walked out the front door carrying a small bowl. As the screen door slammed behind him, he stepped off the porch and strolled over to a small pond about 50 yards away. Then, reaching into the bowl, he grabbed a handful of yellow morsels and tossed them into the water. As if to thank my grandpa, the fish flapped their tails in the water as they devoured the corn.

My father, a young boy of ten at the time, was intrigued. Why does dad keep feeding corn to the fish…at the same time every day? What a waste!

A few weeks later, my grandpa’s mysterious behavior began to make sense.

“Mom,” my grandpa said to my grandma one morning at breakfast. “I’ll take care of supper tonight.” (Farmers in Kansas call it “supper)

Around six o’clock, grandpa repeated his daily ritual, walking out the front door. The screen door slammed behind him as he stepped off the porch, but instead of walking straight to the pond, he stopped at the shed on the other side of the house.

Within five minutes, grandpa was strolling toward the pond, yellow bowl of corn in hand. In the other hand he carried a bucket while draping a fishing pole under his arm.

You know where this story is going…

As he walked to the water’s edge, the fish rushed to greet their generous patron, flapping their tails as if to thank him in advance. Then, my grandpa carefully threaded three or four kernels of corn on a hook and gently tossed the line into the water. One-by-one, the hungry fish inhaled the evenings offering. And one-by-one, he reeled in enough fish to supply that evening’s supper.

What deadly morsels are you feasting on?

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8

Michael co-pastors The Neighborhood Church in Littleton, Colorado with Eugene Scott. He too easily identifies with those fish.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Tale of the Fish with the Deadly Appetite

  1. Georgie-ann

    Matthew 10:16 “Behold, I am sending you out like sheep in the midst of wolves; be wary and wise as serpents, and be innocent (harmless, guileless, and without falsity) as doves.”

    important admonitions,…as true as ever,…

  2. Carri

    Wow I can certainly relate to this post after the year I’ve had. Thankfully I’m no longer biting the bait! And yes I grew up in an area where dinner was referred to as supper and lunch was often called dinner. Because I always felt like a ‘fish out of water’ in the area I grew up, I always called the evening meal dinner instead of supper and to this day I still can’t stand country music. Have a wonderful weekend Mike!

Leave a Reply

