Your Shelter In The Storm

“Don’t worry,” I reassured my friend Sandi. “We don’t get tornadoes here in Denver.”

While in high school, my friend Sandi and I were hanging out in a nearby park on a spring afternoon when the clouds turned into a downpour. We jumped into my car, but when the rain turned to golfball-size hail, I knew we needed to find shelter. Driving through the neighborhood, I spotted a vacant garage-like awning adjacent to a house, so I drove underneath it while we waited for the storm to pass.

After the storm calmed down, I dropped off Sandi at her house and then drove home. To my astonishment, when I turned on the radio I discovered that a tornado had indeed hit Denver. In fact, it had followed a nearby freeway before skipping over us and then landing about a mile away where it continued it’s destructive path.

The awning sheltered my car from serious damage. But I also encountered another shelter during that experience…

What Made King David’s Shelter So Strong?

Although people point to him as Israel’s greatest king and a man after God’s heart, David was no stranger to adversity. We don’t know the context into which David wrote Psalm 7, but it’s obvious that his life was in danger.The psalm was likely written while he was on the run from Saul—because the title says the psalm is a response to Cush, a Benjamite, and we know Saul incited the Benjamites against David (see 1 Samuel 22:7).

Regardless, while in danger David begins the psalm by writing, “O Lord my God, I take refuge in you” (verse 1). A refuge is literally a shelter in a storm.

But how did David find refuge in God? I think it resembled my experience with the hailstorm. In the same way that I trusted the awning to protect my car, David trusted God to protect him. David still encountered opposition, but he trusted in God’s goodness and power to protect him.

In addition to that, David found a way to commune with God. Writing Psalm 7 was one way that David found refuge in God. He even wrote the psalm in the present tense: “I take refuge in you.” Not “I want to take refuge in you” or  “I remember that one time when I took refuge in you.” By journaling his thoughts, David  experienced the shelter of God’s love. Many of the psalms we read are journal entries of conversations (poetry!) between David and God.

Taking refuge in God involves placing our trust in God to protect and to provide, but it also includes ways for us to “take refuge in the shelter of [his] wings,” as David writes in Psalm 61:4. It means finding reassurance that can only come from being with him.

How do you find refuge in God?

Michael co-pastors The Neighborhood Church in Littleton, Colorado with Eugene Scott. Listening to the music of Jesus Culture helps him find refuge when he’s in distress. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Your Shelter In The Storm

  1. Georgie-ann

    Amen! and so true,… “inspired” poetry or music, art or literature, lifts us out of our mundane everyday, comparatively “helpless and random” circumstances, and puts us in touch with/(connects us with) “higher” realms and sources of aid and protection,… Often we can’t “see” our “invisible” and angelic helpers, but stories like yours give us “goosebumps” when we realize that this has very likely been so,…

    Luke 1:78,79
    78 “Because of and through the heart of tender mercy and loving-kindness of our God, a Light from on high will dawn upon us and visit [us]
    79 To shine upon and give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, TO DIRECT AND GUIDE OUR FEET IN A STRAIGHT LINE INTO THE WAY OF PEACE.”

    Luke 24:49 “And behold, I will send forth upon you what My Father has promised; but remain in the city [Jerusalem] until you are CLOTHED WITH POWER FROM ON HIGH.”

    Habakkuk 2:9 “Woe to him who obtains wicked gain for his house, [who thinks by so doing] to set his nest on high that he may be preserved from calamity and delivered from the power of evil!”

    Jeremiah 17:11-13
    11 “Like the partridge that gathers a brood which she did not hatch and sits on eggs which she has not laid, so is he who gets riches by unjust means and not by right. He will leave them, or they will leave him, in the midst of his days, and at his end he will be a fool.
    12 “A glorious throne, set on high from the beginning, is the place of our sanctuary (the temple).
    13 “O Lord, the Hope of Israel, all who forsake You shall be put to shame. They who depart from You and me [Your prophet] shall [disappear like] writing upon the ground, because they have forsaken the Lord, the Fountain of living waters.”

    Psalm 18:16,17
    16 “He reached from on high, He took me; He drew me out of many waters.
    17 HE DELIVERED ME FROM MY STRONG ENEMY and from those who hated and abhorred me, for they were too strong for me.”

    Kenneth Hagin, Sr. referred to “the force of righteousness,”… the power of God rests protectively and proactively upon those who honor Him in spirit and in truth — heart, word, and deed:

    Psalm 36:6 “Your righteousness is like the great mountains; Your judgments are a great deep; O LORD, YOU PRESERVE MAN AND BEAST.”

    Psalm 40:10 “I have not hidden Your righteousness within my heart; I have declared Your faithfulness and Your salvation; I have not concealed Your lovingkindness and Your truth From the great assembly.”

    Psalm 45:6 “Your throne, O God, is forever and ever; A scepter of righteousness is the scepter of Your kingdom.”

    Psalm 45:7 “You love righteousness and hate wickedness; Therefore God, Your God, has anointed You With the oil of gladness more than Your companions.”

    Psalm 71:2 “Deliver me in Your righteousness, and cause me to escape; Incline Your ear to me, and save me.”

    Psalm 97:6 “The heavens declare His righteousness, And all the peoples see His glory.”

    Psalm 103:17,18
    17 “But the mercy of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting
    On those who fear Him,
    And His righteousness to children’s children,
    18 “To such as keep His covenant,
    And to those who remember His commandments to do them.”

    Psalm 3:2-4
    2 “Many are saying of me, There is no help for him in God. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!
    3 “BUT YOU, O LORD, ARE A SHIELD FOR ME, my glory, and the lifter of my head.
    4 “With my voice I cry to the Lord, and He hears and answers me out of His holy hill. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!”

    God’s Love and protection over us is 24-7,…

    Psalm 121:1-8
    1 “I will lift up my eyes to the hills—
    From whence comes my help?
    2 “My help comes from the Lord,
    Who made heaven and earth.

    3 “He will not allow your foot to be moved;
    He who keeps you will not slumber.
    4 “Behold, He who keeps Israel
    Shall neither slumber nor sleep.

    5 “The Lord is your keeper;
    The Lord is your shade at your right hand.
    6 “The sun shall not strike you by day,
    Nor the moon by night.

    7 “The Lord shall preserve you from all evil;
    He shall preserve your soul.
    8 “The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in
    From this time forth, and even forevermore.”

    Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

  2. Georgie-ann

    Psalm 91 [Safety of Abiding in the Presence of God]

    1 He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
    Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
    2 I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress;
    My God, in Him I will trust.”

    3 Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler
    And from the perilous pestilence.
    4 He shall cover you with His feathers,
    And under His wings you shall take refuge;
    His truth shall be your shield and buckler.
    5 You shall not be afraid of the terror by night,
    Nor of the arrow that flies by day,
    6 Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness,
    Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday.

    7 A thousand may fall at your side,
    And ten thousand at your right hand;
    But it shall not come near you.
    8 Only with your eyes shall you look,
    And see the reward of the wicked.

    9 Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge,
    Even the Most High, your dwelling place,
    10 No evil shall befall you,
    Nor shall any plague come near your dwelling;
    11 For He shall give His angels charge over you,
    To keep you in all your ways.
    12 In their hands they shall bear you up,
    Lest you dash your foot against a stone.
    13 You shall tread upon the lion and the cobra,
    The young lion and the serpent you shall trample underfoot.

    14 “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him;
    I will set him on high, because he has known My name.
    15 He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him;
    I will be with him in trouble;
    I will deliver him and honor him.
    16 With long life I will satisfy him,
    And show him My salvation.”

Leave a Reply

