Don’t Do Life On Your Own

On July 20th I was reminded how much we all need people in our lives who care for us.  I was shocked when I woke up on Friday and found out that a madman had opened fire on the audience during a screening of The Dark Knight Rises.  I am sickened that people went out for the night to see a movie and now families have been ripped apart.

That Friday morning, after leaving for work, my dad sent me a text.  He wanted to tell me he loves me and is proud of me.  My dad is over sentimental, but I don’t really mind.  I am glad I have a family that cares for me.

Having such a loving family makes me wonder what happened to the shooter.  Why was he such a loner?  I’ve heard reports from people who played soccer with him in high school or sat next to him in grad school that he never connected with anyone.  That he was just odd.

We may never know why the shooter didn’t have a community around him, that loved him and supported him.  He probably thought he was better off alone.

I think, especially after the movie massacre, that’s utterly wrong.  We need people in our lives to help us celebrate life’s joys, to help us grieve life’s sorrows, and to help us recover after we’ve been hurt.  I pray that the people directly affected by the shooting in Aurora don’t shut themselves in.  I hope that my city of Denver and state of Colorado continues to reach out to these families in the months and years to come.

Our world may be broken, but if you and I set out to show our neighbors love and respect, maybe, just maybe we will see true healing.

I try to live by what Jesus says, which is hard, because I’m not perfect, but he commands me to “Love my neighbors as I love myself.”  How can we do that if we live in seclusion or if we just rely on our own strength?

Over the last year I have found a group of friends who love and support one another.  We meet almost every Monday night for dinner and games.  It is a very fun time that often ends with us praying for one another.  I’m very thankful for each person in the group, because I know I am supported, and  I don’t have to live my life alone.

Do you have people in your life?  I’ve been talking about living spiritually in my blog a bit this year.  I’m finding the number one thing I need to do to live spiritually is to connect with God and let him connect you to a healthy community.  I can’t live my life on my own.  I hope you don’t either.  I know it can be hard to open up to other people, but the reward is worth the risk.

God will redeem this horrible tragedy.  I believe, “that in all things God works for the good of those who love him.” Paul, the man who wrote the above quote, had seen many atrocities, but also, as an early Christian leader, he’d seen Christ work miracles.  He knew that God will take what has been broken and heal it.  The scar may never fully disappear, but if we let him, it will turn into something beautiful.  And that will happen when we connect with the people around us.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Don’t Do Life On Your Own

  1. Georgie-ann

    I’m very glad you’re all “OK”,… The situation is upsetting on so many levels,… What you say is true, and is certainly how God has meant us to live, in “blessing mode”,… and how gracious is the wish to extend “wholeness” and healing and comfort and goodwill to others, recognizing that this is the “gospel love extended” that unites us and completes us, and that God created us to both need and supply, with Him in the middle of it all,…

    For those blessed to be truly “clue-ing into” God and His Ways, or to be living in the vicinity of those who are, the blessing can spread and “be contagious” in a good way,… This would be life lived “according to God’s will”,…

    Unfortunately, we know that, at best, there is always an undercurrent of “brokenness” (NOT in a good way) messing with the divine design here on earth,… ‘though we usually (and normally) hope to miss interfacing directly with the worst of its aspects,… (unless we’re in law enforcement, or other concerns that are purposely designed to deal with the difficult effects of this “brokenness”),…

    There are many things about life (as a “mixed bag”) that we adjust to, as we go along, that do not conform to our ideal hopes and wishes for ourselves and others,… The more closely we encounter the stubborn and determined resistance of such factors, the less we take our blessings “for granted”,… the more we wish to conscientiously protect them and ourselves and others from being thus challenged,… and the happier we are that we have a “heaven” to look forward to, where “once and for all” this abnormal and persistent enemy will forever be put underfoot,… separated and away from us,…

    The only way we know the Truth of these matters is from the Bible, where God explains quite clearly the dynamics and character of our infiltrating enemy,… otherwise his sly intentions and convoluted methods can be very perplexing to the normal human mind and folks among us,…

    Once inoculated with “spiritual awareness” in these matters, however, — (“once bitten, twice shy”) — we are never the same in handling/experiencing/judging earthly matters,… our expectations change: we understand that this isn’t simply “a rose garden” that we’re living in, or at least that many of the supposed roses do have thorns,… “all that glitters is not gold”,… “buyer beware”,… “things are seldom what they seem”,… and such proverbial insights,… “hidden agendas” and people and organizations who have them can particularly “throw us for a big loop”,… with everything we know and learn and are told/sold, we can still easily be caught off-guard and unsuspecting,…

    A “normal” person expects to find a basic level of truth and fairness (which could be called “walking in the Light”) in dealing with life, but there are others who have become accustomed to functioning “in darkness”,… and their ways will be perplexing to others, as well as unpredictable,…

    With this as a backdrop to understanding how we are to “live the life” (“play the game”), we are encouraged and comforted by the full counsel of God’s Word, but seriously warned and advised as well,… The closer we stick to God and His Ways as the strong focus of our lives, and the more we submit ourselves to earnest prayer and walking in the way(s) that He personally leads us in, the greater the probability of our finding our best shelter “in Him”,… and our best guidance,…

    Psalm 143:9 “Deliver me, O LORD, from my enemies; In You I take shelter.”

    Psalm 61:1-4
    1 “Hear my cry, O God;
    Attend to my prayer.
    2 “From the end of the earth I will cry to You,
    When my heart is overwhelmed;
    Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

    3 “For You have been a shelter for me,
    A strong tower from the enemy.
    4 “I will abide in Your tabernacle forever;
    I will trust in the shelter of Your wings. Selah”

    It just plain and simply is not realistic to take our earthly life and generalized customs and procedures as being automatically “safe” at simple face value — assuming/presuming a guaranteed level of rationality, honesty and law-abidingness in others,… We can be thankful for how much goodness and blessing we do have and find,.. and leaning closely on God, we can maximize our potentials for having protection, wisdom and personal guidance in making our own life choices,…

    I think the way we find the ability to both realize these things, and not to lose “heart” and faith, is an actual spiritual growth process,… finding our dignity and true identity by clinging more to God and His Word, and less to ordinary “life” at its face value,…

    Colossians 3:2-4
    2 “Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. 3 For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. 4 When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.”

  2. Georgie-ann

    Psalm 23

    1 “The Lord is my shepherd;
    I shall not want.
    2 “He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
    He leads me beside the still waters.
    3 “He restores my soul;
    He leads me in the paths of righteousness
    For His name’s sake.

    4 “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
    I will fear no evil;
    For You are with me;
    Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

    5 “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
    You anoint my head with oil;
    My cup runs over.
    6 “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
    All the days of my life;
    And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    Forever.”

    Amen.

  3. John Drummond

    Thanks Mike. I can’t do life on my own. Even with me beautiful family I need God. I struggle to make that time for God even though I know he is just a “knock away” on the other side of the door. I need to stop the busyness. Got any suggestions?

    • Brendan here. First, thanks for reading my blog. I think the best way to stop the busyness is to say no to a couple of things in your life. It might be hard, but re-evaluating what we spend our time on is very important. Placing God first is what we need to be doing.

Leave a Reply

